Gnocchi do pyaza Recipe

Few days back while having paneer do pyaza, I somehow got an idea to mix do pyaaza with Gnocchi (weird, right?). Making Potato Gnocchi at home was easy and it represents my love for Potatoes 🙂  Do pyaza is a preparation which uses onion a lot and I figured that this dish might not be that bad as onion and potato go well together. we often make potato curry and eat it with naan or Kulche which are made of refined flour. So,  was it good ? It was a bit different and am happy that it wasn’t disappointing. Will I make it again ? I guess, yes but with more of tomato and onion and less of spices. So friends, in case you would want to try this unique combo of Indian and Italian, let me Present to you, Gnocchi do pyaza.

gnocchi-do-pyaaza-2

I referred to a youtube video for homemade potato gnocchi recipe. I made it using refined flour and mashed potatoes (no egg). Down below is the video :

Once my dough was ready, I used the fork as shown in the video to give the desired shape to gnocchi as below.

To make Do Pyaaza

Ingredients

gnocchi do pyaza Ingredients.jpg

Dried Red chilli 5 (as per your taste)

Three medium sized Tomatoes

Two medium sized Onion

I chopped small sized onion.

6 cloves of Garlic

Coriander Powder 1 tsp.

Cumin Powder 2 tsp.

Coriander leaves for garnishing (optional)

Red chili powder 1/2 tsp.

Black pepper powder 1/2 tsp.

Oil of your choice or Ghee (I used Rice bran)

salt to taste.

Turmeric powder 1/2 tsp.

1 Bay leaf.

I avoided ginger and garam masala in this preparation, you may use it if you wish.

Instructions 

step 1 : Boil onion, garlic, dried red chilli and tomatoes till the skin of tomato comes out easily on peeling.

step 2 : Now grind them together to make a paste.

step 3 : In a pan, heat oil, add bay leaf, once it turns brownish black, remove carefully. Now add the chopped onions, fry till golden brown.

step 4: Next, add the paste we prepared earlier and salt, turmeric powder, chilli powder to it. Sauté it for 2 mins. and then add rest of the spices. Cook the entire mix for few minutes till it appears brownish and oil separates.

imag2185

step 5 : Add gnocchi to it and cook for another 2 minutes followed by  garnishing with chopped coriander leaves. Serve it hot.

gnocchi-do-pyaaza

Bon Appetit.

Thank you. Much Loves,

Arohii

26 comments

  1. sweetie, coming from you, it means a lot. Thank you so much. smiling wide. Happy you liked, unhappy you got hungry.
    wishing you an amazing Tuesday dear, best wishes. xx ❤

    Like

Comments are closed.