Winning over Common winter woe, Dandruff

winter-woeWinters bring with them common health and beauty issues which worsens if neglected. It is therefore very much necessary to know the common winter woes and their solution. One of the serious winter problem that requires immediate attention is Dandruff. Ew! But true. Lets Face it, we all have been there. It is natural. why? Because my friends, it is said that Dandruff occurs when three things combine together-

a. Malassezia Globosa- Fungi Commonly found on our scalps.

b. Sebum- Oily waxy substance produced by sebaceous glands in our body to lubricate our skin and hair.

c. Scalp Sensitivity- 50 percent of people are sensitive to oleic acid*.

*Interesting thing to note here is that fungi breaks down fat into oleic acid and it does so to grow. when they grow rapidly, natural renewal of cells is disturbed and thus, dandruff occurs with itching.

How to take care of Dandruff naturally 

  • Diet : Healthy, include lots of fruits and green vegetables, drink lots of water
  • Brushing hair with soft brush from scalp to down with firm and steady strokes.
  • Shampoo and condition Regularly.
  • Lemon Juice/ Vinegar / Aloe vera / Olive oil/ Coconut oil massage are effective against Dandruff.

Read Also : How to get rid of Dandruff : 11 natural treatment.

Anti Dandruff effective shampoos and products.

How I managed to get rid of Dandruff ? It would be a lie if I say I cured my Dandruff problem permanently. But yes, I have tried anti-Dandruff shampoo, D’free anti Dandruff lotion, lemon Juice and oils. They helped me get rid of Dandruff temporarily.

Anti- Dandruff shampoos are effective but for a short while. But they can be the ultimate solution, provided you wash your hair regularly, condition it and avoid stress and unhealthy food. which might be not easy to achieve for most of us. There are many Anti Dandruff shampoos available in market claiming to treat Dandruff. One of the the most reliable one is Neutrogena T gel. 

Neutrogena.jpg

Buy here : Amazon.com

Active Ingredients contain coal tar, Pyrithione zinc, salicylic acid.

Image result for d free
source : Google

Another product known as D’free Lotion contains Piroctone olamine, ZPTO, Climbazole + sebum Modulators and Aloe Vera. I will be honest with you, after few uses, results were not extraordinary. If you expect the Dandruff to completely vanish, this is not the product you are looking for.

What would I recommend ? Neutrogena.

Other Effective shampoos :

How to avoid Recurrence :

Healthy Lifestyle followed by washing and conditioning hair regularly will prevent recurrence to an extent.


Have a Dandruff free winter. Thank you. 🙂

-Arohii

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Christy B says:

    Helpful tips here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you dear 🙂

      Like

  2. You’re damn right. D’Free is bogus totally. It controls your dandruff for 1 day exactly !!
    I have not tried this Neutrogena. Lets see. But the home remedy tips you gave are good one. I too read that Apple Cider Vinegar and Listerine are very good in removing dandruff and cleansing your scalp of the fungus. You should apply it directly to your scalp, wait for 30 minutes, then wash off and condition your hair well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Yes..definitely…all those home remedies are good. D’free actually works but then again..you are right not for long! Thank you Cattie.. 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Earlier I used to use Wella Clear Scalp Lotion. That was miraculous for dandruff !!
    However, Salons in India have stopped stocking it, due too high price. It is available on Amazon and other Outside India Shopping Sites.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Ok..wella..that’s a new add to my list of anti dandruff products. Thanks for sharing dear…😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Get it on Amazon.in

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Arohii says:

        Ok…next time..I’ll look for it.. 😊

        Like

  4. Alok Singhal says:

    I used T/Gel for some time, but then moved over to Ginger Scalp care from the Body Shop…it has worked best for me for now.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Arohii says:

      Oh..I have heard good things about body shop products from a friend, thanks for sharing. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Very informative! I don’t get dandruff much, but if I do I’ll revisit these tips! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you so much 😊 sure thing, but hope you do not get them Ever!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dandruff is a common problem in winter. I used to suffer from it a few years ago. But, now, I’m free of it. I think it’s because of food habit and exercise rather than anything else…. Your post is quite informative. I’ve used Neutrogena products, they are good… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you my dear..for your valuable comment.I am free now of dandruff and glad I found a good product. Neutrogena is nice , D’free is okay too.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. voulaah says:

    thank you so much for sharing very helpful tips Arohii
    Have a very nice day
    Kisses back to you
    Anita

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      My pleasure dear Anita…Thank you too for dropping by…much loves xx 🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Sabiscuit says:

    Definitely brushing a lot is important for me. In midwinter I get a deep scalp treatment at the salon . It’s some negative ion carbonated thing that fizzes and gets rid of all impurities from your pores. I took a cue from that and stared spraying carbonated water on my hair and on my scalp before going to bed. It really helps. I don’t get the static flyaways and my hair is always super soft.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Wow..I guess this technique is used to remove impurities from face as well…right? Thanks for sharing dear…I didn’t know this could be done. Have an awesome week…love!! ❤❤❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sabiscuit says:

        Much love back, Arohii!!! I discovered the sparkling water hack out of curiosity and I’m very happy it works for my skin and hair. I think the carbonated water is good for lifting impurities. xo

        Liked by 1 person

  9. spardha.k says:

    Great tips 👍..reblobbing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thanks so much spardha.

      Like

  10. I find the tips really helpful. Thanks for sharing Arohi .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      pleasure and thank you so much sweetie 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:

    I USE SELSUN BLUE–OR ITS STORE BRAND FORM…BECAUSE IT IS ALSO EXCELLENT IN CONTROLLING DRY, CRUSTY SKIN, WHICH I HAVE TOO MUCH OF! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you so much for the Reblog Jonathan, so kind of you. Selsun blue? Noted! its another addition to anti dandruff products. Thanks for sharing!!!

      Like

  12. Anupriya says:

    Have you checked out the latest post on my blog? Check out the post soon 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      sure dear, I am there, reading your post something special right now! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  13. SonikaBalyan says:

    You have such an amazing blog. Would you like to take a look at mine ?
    https://liveyourdream382.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you sonika. You too have a great blog. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Arohii says:

        Mention not! 🙂

        Like

Hey Arohi (Let me know what you think)

