Yam Balls in pear & tomato Sauce Recipe

Hi guys,

It’s been a while and I have been wanting to share Yam balls in pear & tomato Sauce recipe with you since more than a week now and I just couldn’t. Thing is, my internet is down since few days due to Monsoon and I have all posts pending in which Autumn/fall style tips are on top of my list. I will try my best to post it before you come face to face with fall, I promise.

And wish my Indian readers a very Happy belated Janmashtami. Hope you enjoyed. I had a great time celebrating it too and made some special dishes for Gopalji which included corn kheer and bread pudding. I am excited about how corn kheer tasted and I so want to share the recipe with you but alas I will have to wait till I make it again.

Coming to our recipe, adding Pears made it interesting, I guess. There are many things that can be made with pears like poached saffron pear,smoothies or pear pie, tarte etc. I decided to rather make a savoury dish with pears. This is a must try recipe since it has all the health benefits of yam, pear and tomato. They are very rich is Vitamins and minerals of which most notables are- Vit. C, A, B6, Iron, Potassium and Sodium.

Recipe

 

yamballs in pear, tomato sauce.
Ingredients

For the Yam balls
I medium bowl boiled and then mashed Yam
1 tablespoon chickpeas or gram flour
1 large onion, peeled and chopped (about 200g)
2 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped or crushed.
1 tbsp cornflour or breadcrumbs
1/2 tsp pepper powder.
½ tsp red chilli powder.
½ tsp salt
Saffron or turmeric powder- a pinch for color.
Oil for frying approx. 4 tbsp.

Optional : Garam masala, ground cinnamon and cardamon.

For the sauce
2 tbsp oil of your choice, preferably olive oil.
4 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
salt to taste.
2 Tomatoes.
1 tbsp harissa paste
2 bay leaves
1/2 tbsp sugar
Lemon zest or leaves
1 cup water
2 pears, cored and cut.
1/2 tsp pepper powder
optional – 1/2 tbsp onion paste.

Procedure :

To make Yam balls

Mix all the ingredients for Yam balls and make balls out of them. Coat them with cornflour or breadcrumbs and then fry them till golden brown. Keep them aside.

Frying yamballs

To make Sauce :

If you have Tomato puree you may use that or otherwise, blanch Pears and tomatoes with Lemon zest or leaves. Then blend them to make a paste.

Secondly, Harissa paste are available in market if you don’t have them, you can make them at home easily. I followed these easy steps and prepared it at home.

Harisaa paste,tomato pear puree

In a frying pan, add bay leaves, garlic and onion paste to oil and fry for a minute or two till the garlicky smell emerges. Next, add harissa paste and the tomato, pear Puree. Cook them all together for two minutes on medium flame and then add sugar and salt to it. Add water and bring to boil and then again cook for another five minutes on low to medium flame.

Once ready dip your Yam balls into the sauce and serve hot with anything you like. we had it with Laccha Paratha. I hope you will try and enjoy this dish with your family.

yamballs in pear and tomato sauce

Happy weekend Lovelies. 🙂

Bon Appetit.

Much Loves,

Arohii

 

 

33 comments

  1. Hi Priya, Thank you so much 🙂 Yam tastes good and I like yam balls more than banana ones. Hope you give it a try. Internet is a bit slow but I will be there soon at your blog. 🙂 Missing out on your delicious recipes !! Loves,
    Arohii

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.