11 Songs Inspired from India

The latest song by coldplay, “Hymm for the weekend” stirred debate all across social media and was accused of misinterpreting India. As for me i am not upset, i pretty much enjoyed the song and seeing beyonce in it was a treat. c’mon guys take a chill pill, it is just a song, enjoy it. So here i am with a playlist of 11 songs inspired from India.

No.1 has be the greatest hit by DJ Snake last year and one of my all time favourite LEAN ON. I love this song. The song features Maharaja’s palace and Indian backup dancers with some cool moves.

No.2 Powerless by Nelly furtado
Nelly Furtado released two videos, one without bhangra beats and one with bhangra beats featuring Josh. well, we were very fond of this song when it was released and a little secret between you and me, my friend and I carved few lines from the song on our bench at school. 🙂

No.3 Come and get it by Selena Gomez
The video was not shot in India, it just features Tabla players, tabla music in beginning and a male voice singing in hindi.

No. 4 Bum Bhole Nath by Bob Marley
Bum bhole nath is basically in hindi sung by Bob Marley who is praying to Lord shiva, a hindu God.

No.5 Bounce by Iggy Azalea
I never liked this video. Video was probably shot in India.

No.6 Addictive by Truth hurts
The song starts with a hindi song in beginning, Kaliyon ka chaman.

No. 7 : Jimmy by M.I.A
This seems to be a popular song, i find many versions of this song. There is one Jimmy song by a Russian artist also.. check it out here

Jimmy is a bollywood song and M.I.A version differs in lyrics.

No. 8 : Juramento by Ricky Martin
The remastered version has bhangra flair to it.

No.9 : Across the universe by the Beatles

No. 10: Shine by Bond
The video shows Indian wedding.

Lastly, the latest song
No.11 : Hymm for the weekend by coldplay

Featured image source: Pinterest

To read more on about the cultural appropriation issue that the coldplay video has sparked, check this out- Here
Enjoy the songs, music is for pleasure not useless arguments. I hope you liked the playlist.

Thank you. peace

Loads of loves

Arohii.

33 Comments Add yours

  1. Rangelz says:

    Nice list Arohi. I don’t watch English songs and I did come across the controversy regarding coldplay. I heard the song because of you. 🙂 I think it is beautiful. More of India’s diversity & vibe has been depicted. I am a Sonam hater, but she looks gorgeous in this one. 🙂 As you said, people should just enjoy rather than take offence.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Arohii says:

      Hi dear, so glad you stopped by. Thank you for the lovely comment. I agree video is beautiful. 🙂
      ~xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jncthedc says:

    Great diverse list. Seems your well rounded in the realm of music. I use music to calm my mind and relax. For me, it is a quick method to bring a type A personality down a notch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you 🙂 I use music for the same, it has been my best friend in time of needs. Happy you liked the list.Thank you for the lovely comment. Good day 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sakthi says:

    Good collections 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. JV says:

    You are pretty good at making people notice things that go unnoticed otherwise! Nice.
    Recent Post: L’oreal UV Perfect Aqua Essence Review

    Like

  5. Coldplay again showed how good he can be with music. And talking about the heat and the reactions, we Indians need to accept that this part of India exists too. The world too need to visit India and see our part of India.
    Lean on is one of my favorite too.☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      oh nice to know. 🙂 Hmm, well sure world should. I think Coldplay has done an incredible job showing everything that makes India unique. Thank you bunches ~xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup! And it was a treat to watch Beyonce. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks so much for following http://fonzandcancer.wordpress.com I really do appreciate it – Fonz

    Like

    1. Arohii says:

      My pleasure 🙂

      Like

  7. Arvind Kumar says:

    Hmm, Lean on is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. chaicyy says:

    A great list indeed, I do like that Bob Marley and Beatles song too. It’s usually on my ‘Get High and listen” Playlist
    xoxo – Style.. A Pastiche

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Cool, thanks so much for stopping by 🙂 xoxo

      Like

  9. Archana Kapoor says:

    wow… what a lovely list!! I didn’t know most of them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Glad you liked Archana, thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Leyla says:

    nice List, AROHII 🙂 happy Weekend friend

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      Thanks, Happy weekend to you too, friend ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. theonlysup says:

    Wow . again nice collection . Selena Gomez and Ricky martin ones I liked

    Liked by 1 person

  12. RhEvans says:

    I would say many of George Harrison’s songs were inspired by India, as he became pretty obsessed by Indian music and culture from about 1965 when he learnt to play the sitar with Ravi Shankar. But, maybe the most obvious Beatles’ / George Harrison song inspired by India would be “Within you, Without you” from Sgt. Pepper. Also, his 1971 big hit “My Sweet Lord”, after The Beatles split up. He even chants “Hare Krishna” towards the end of that song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arohii says:

      wow, thanks for sharing the information, that’s very kind of you! I just learned that My sweet Lord won Record of the year at Grammys!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. RhEvans says:

        Yes, 1971 I think

        Liked by 1 person

Hey Arohi (Let me know what you think)

